Students and Teachers from Trinity Valley School (Fort Worth, Texas, USA) and Colegio Rivendell (Toluca, Mexico) may use this space to share stories, facts, observations, and questions about lessons from monarchs and other natural wonders in their areas.

Students and teachers, click on the "Comment" link to add your thoughts and teach us what you know!
10/29/2013 07:08:50 am

My name is Dr. Roemer from Trinity Valley School in Fort Worth. I am the Director of Global Initiatives and my job is to connect our students with people from around the world. So, I am excited to learn from you all about your cultures and about monarchs. Monarch butterflies come through Fort Worth, Texas every year, but their numbers are diminishing. It is sad, and I hope that this exchange will help you see how important they are to our ecology and our cultures so that you can help keep them alive!

I can't wait to read what Rivendell and TVS students have to share!

Reply
Julie Frey
1/4/2014 07:26:22 am

Hi! My name is Julie Frey and I teach sixth grade life science. Each year my students study the migration of the monarch butterfly. In the fall we look at the celebration of the arrival of the monarch in Mexico and study the importance of the Fort Worth area for the monarch. We study the life cycle, anatomy, and conservation needs of this insect. In the spring, we wait for the return of the monarch and raise them in the classroom while learning about the importance of the milkweed.
My hope is that the students will appreciate how amazing this journey is and how crucial the Fort Worth area is for this migration.

Reply
1/14/2014 02:38:47 am

I loved learning more about the monarch! I only knew that they migrated to Mexico in the fall but I did not know that there was so many and what they went through to get to Mexico. I learned so much and really enjoyed it while doing it!! Thanks!

Reply
Thor T.
1/13/2014 11:02:43 pm

Hello students of Rivendell I used to see hundreds of butterflies come near my house but now they are gone. I believe they left because of all the loud construction in Texas. They were beuatifil when the were here though.

Reply
Ben
1/13/2014 11:03:38 pm

Hi students in Rivendell,
when the butterflies migrate we see hundreds of them at my house. how many fly over your house?

Reply
1/13/2014 11:48:54 pm

Hi! My name is Tai Hoang and I'm a sixth grade student at Trinity Valley School. I learned about how far the journey and how important the Fort Worth area is. My question to you is do you see the butterflies migrating before they hit the locations and trees?

Reply
Ella
1/13/2014 11:59:00 pm

It's so amazing that all of you got to see so many monarchs, we see them when they are migrating but rather than that we don't really see them a lot. :)

Reply
Nadia
1/13/2014 11:59:56 pm

Hi my name is Nadia. My question is about what time of year do the monarchs reach your city? Also about how many monarchs do you see in the city? Thank you for your time!

Reply
Caroline
1/14/2014 12:02:32 am

Hi my name is Caroline, When the butterflies come to your city, do lot fly by your houses? Thanks for your time.

Reply
Kian Amos
1/14/2014 02:34:01 am

Hi my name is Kian, I was wondering if the monarchs usually come on a certain day. If not, do the come during a certain week? Thats all.

Reply
1/14/2014 02:38:31 am

I really enjoyed learning about the Monarchs. I really didnt know how important we were in their migration until Mrs.Frey explained it. It was really interesting and on of the most favorite part of the year for me. My Family used to have milkweed in our old backyard and we always had the monarchs on it. It was always really interesting and fun to watch.

Reply
1/14/2014 02:39:45 am

I loved learning about these amazing insects. I didn`t know how big of a role these butterflies played in the Mexican culture. I liked learning about their migration and how many came together at a roosting site after their long journey. I also enjoyed having one in our classroom and watching it grow. Thank you!!!!

Reply
1/14/2014 02:40:32 am

When you see the monarchs coming, what do you fell? Do you feel scared, amazed, or nothing at all? Have you ever had the monarch butterflies surround you before? I think that would be quite something. I haven't been there yet but it seems beautiful in my mind. I would love to go there sometime.

Reply
1/14/2014 02:41:35 am

From the way you have explained it, it sounds like its amazing to see. Have you ever taken a field trip there with your school? If so was it a little crazy? I would just want to go there with a few people so I can take in everthing.

Reply
1/14/2014 02:44:46 am

It sounds like seeing all the monarchs was really fun! I wish I could have been there. Did y'all go on a field trip with the school? Have you seen them in your backyard? That would have been amazing!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.